If you have followed me here you know that winter is my favorite time of year. So with that in mind, I have written another Winter related poem.

It’s a calm night, with a chill in the air,
I sit by my open window and wait,
for I know Winter, my lover, will soon be there,
she is the only one, my sweet, my mate.

The wind howls with righteous fury,
and the air transforms to frigid ice,
a snowflake, some sleet, Winter please hurry,
a white Christmas would really be nice.

I climb under the covers of quilted snow,
closing my eyes I drift off to sleep,
embraced by my lover you already know,
Winter has come and tears of joy I weep.

Icy tendrils creep around my room,
turning it into a frozen cube of ice,
curled up in my bed, inside the womb,
I dream of snowy days oh so nice.

I sleep so soundly in the sub-freezing air,
the wind blowing without end,
no-one could be happier than this polar bear,
watching the thermometer descend.

Oh Winter, my passionate frozen bride,
I love you with all of my heart,
At spring and summer with malice I deride,
I pray, Winter, you and I will never part.

Leave a Reply

