Yesterday was yet another amazing day with my family. We had lunch together at my Mom’s house and then shortly afterward left for Arrowhead Stadium where we went on a 90 minute tour of the stadium. It was an incredible experience walking around the stadium that my Dad had been to many times, and the place where all the energy and spirit of the Chiefs Kingdom is concentrated. We had a short video introduction and then went to some of the suites and then down near the ground level, saw the locker room and then walked out along the sidelines on the field. It was the first time I had ever been on an NFL team’s football field, it was awesome. Then we went up to the penthouse which afforded us an amazing view of the surrounding land and the Kansas City skyline.

After the tour we went back to the house and I just relaxed and watched the Royals game while my two sisters took food over to my younger sister Kim’s house for the party later that night. Several friends of my sisters came over and we enjoyed some awesome Chicago meats and cheeses along with fruit, veggies, cookies and a lot of other tasty stuff. Around 10:30pm I started to fade out, all that walking caught up with me and I was ready to crash. But it was a great day!

Earlier in the evening, while my Mom was washing her hair and getting ready for the party. I walked downstairs to the basement, and walked into the bathroom where my Dad died. I sat down on the bench there and started talking to him. I said, “Dad, I have come home. I know you are here and I know you are happy that your son, who was lost, is found. I want you to know I have no ill feelings about being put up for adoption, I want you to know that I am going to be here for Mom, Lisa and Kim, because you can’t be here for them. I love you Dad and I wish we could have met, but I know in my heart you are always with me, and you are a part of me.” I then said a prayer, got up, took one last look at the place where he died and then walked out. I felt I needed to be there, to say those things. I know he heard me.

Some photos from Day 3…

Kim, me and Lisa at Arrowhead Stadium
Kim, me and Lisa at Arrowhead Stadium
Statue of Lamar Hunt in front of the stadium entrance.
Statue of Lamar Hunt in front of the stadium entrance.
The loudest stadium in the world! WOOOT!
The loudest stadium in the world! WOOOT!
Panorama of the field.
Panorama of the field.
From the penthouse, the Kansas City skyline
From the penthouse, the Kansas City skyline
The Vince Lombardi Super Bowl Trophy from the Chief's win at Super Bowl IV
The Vince Lombardi Super Bowl Trophy from the Chief’s win at Super Bowl IV
Leave a Reply

