Yesterday was another awesome day with my family.

Went out with my brother-in-law, Steve, to get his car washed, and while we were out together I asked him what my Dad was like (my biological father passed away two years ago). He told me he was always smiling, always laid back and rarely raised his voice. He was liked by many people, he was a likable guy who always had a smile on his face, loved life to the fullest. Steve told me that the entire basement was finished by him and that he would want me to see it. So when we got back to Mom’s place, I went down there with Steve and we walked around. It was amazing, yet also surreal. Then I walked into the bathroom where my Dad died of an aneurism. Steve walked out of the room but I stood there for a moment because I felt something and suddenly I just started to cry. I felt my Dad was there and I felt some sense of pride in me. That he was incredibly happy that I found my Mom and sisters and that I would be there for them since he couldn’t be. I just walked out and decided to go back upstairs, fighting back tears. It was a very special feeling to have sensed his presence in that bathroom, in that room he worked so hard to make his own.

Then we went out to the Country Club Plaza, walked around and saw the blue fountains (for the Royals who are the A.L. Central Division champs). 90% of the people we saw were wearing Royals shirts – it was amazing! We ate at an awesome little restaurant called Classic Cup, where we enjoyed lunch outside. It was a beautiful day. When we returned to my Mom’s place, I sent a message to my Mom which I had written several days ago before I left Virginia, and asked her to read it aloud so everyone could hear it. Here is that message, which conveys how I feel about all that has happened:

Mom, for many months since we found one another, I have been thinking and pondering about the immensity of this awesome event. There were many times through my life when I stopped and thought about who my birth mother could be, what did she look like, what was her name, what was the full story about why she gave me up? When we first met, Kim asked me if I felt hurt or generally bad about being put up for adoption. I told her no, and I meant that from my heart. Because I was raised by two incredible, loving, nurturing parents. They went the extra mile for me, they sacrificed a lot for me. They nurtured every interest I had and taught me all I needed to succeed in life. So the fact that my birth mother put me up for adoption never brought up any bad feelings. Never. The only feelings that came from it were curiosity. I have to be completely honest when I say this: when I closed my eyes as a child and thought about what you might look like, I saw a woman with a lot of brown hair, put up in a beehive like hairstyle. Her eyes must have been blue because mine were blue. The last time I thought of you and wondered was in 2014. I wondered if you were still living. I didn’t even fathom the possibility of having siblings. I figured I was your first child. Boy was I surprised to find out that not only was I not the first child, but I was the middle child. No wonder I have always had the urge to stir up trouble.
I give glory and praise to my Father in Heaven for bringing you out of the shadows and into the light. After losing nearly all of my family, my father to cancer, my sister to a drunk driver, and while she survived a massive stroke, I also lost my mother. I felt like I was the lone survivor and I would never have a family and never have my sister to confide in again. Well now I have a family again, and oh my goodness not one but two sisters I can talk to, well one sister I can talk to and another I can text to (love you Kim).
Nature abhors a vacuum. And there has been a void left behind after the passing of my biological father two years ago. It is my hope that I can help fill in some of that void, and help you to heal as much as you are helping me to heal. That’s what family is all about.
So Mom I wanted to read all of this to you to let you know that your son has come home and I am so thankful and blessed to have you, Lisa and Kim in my life. You were spared having to raise me (and believe me, that’s a good thing), but now you can reap the benefits of all the work and love my parents put into me, to make me the man I am today.
My last name may be different, but in my DNA, in the blood that runs through my veins, in all that I am – I am a Rohovit!
I love you, Lisa and Kim very much.
Here are some photos from Day 2…
The Fam (L to R: Mom, me, Kim, Lisa and Lisa's husband, Steve)
The Fam (L to R: Mom, me, Kim, Lisa and Lisa’s husband, Steve)
Lisa and I prepping veggies for our Chicago style hot dog night.
Lisa and I prepping veggies for our Chicago style hot dog night.
The kids: Kim (the youngest), me (the middle child) and Lisa, my big sister.
The kids: Kim (the youngest), me (the middle child) and Lisa, my big sister.
Mom and me
Mom and me
Me and Lisa with a partial photobomb by Kim
Me and Lisa with a partial photobomb by Kim
Pano of the awesome fountain turned blue for the Royals.
Pano of the awesome fountain turned blue for the Royals.
Leave a Reply

