Today I turned 50 years old, half a century old. To most people that’s a major milestone, for me not so much. Sure I am blessed to have lived this long considering the trials I have endured in my life, but when I woke up this morning and thought to myself, “I’m 50 today,” I then thought for a moment and then said, “meh!”

Who cares about 50. As I went about my day I just kept thinking to myself, there’s no difference between today and yesterday, it’s just another day in my life. 50 is a number and in my mind that’s the only significance it bears. I have always held this philosophy, ever since was in my twenties. I have always said, “I never let age dictate shit to me.” My mother has told me, for as long as I can remember, “You’re only as old as you feel.”

Well I feel good…so I guess I feel younger. When I told the cashier at the supermarket I frequent near me, “I’m 50 today,” she stared at me for a moment and said, “No way! You’re lying.” When I showed her my driver’s license, her eyes grew wide and she looked at me again and said, “Wow! I would never have thought you were 50. Maybe 35, but not 50.”

That’s courtesy of my good genes I guess. I don’t look my age – not by a long shot. Not only that but my personality is very youthful, and that helps. Plus, not having smoked cigarettes or done any kind of illegal substances helps too.

So happy birthday to me, I am glad I reached this big milestone in life. But I am going to go forward like it never happened.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

