“I have been — and always will be — your friend… Live long, and prosper.”

Those words were spoken by Leonard Nimoy’s character, Spock, in Star Trek II : The Wrath of Khan, as he lay dying in the dilithium chamber after saving the Enterprise from certain destruction. Today Leonard Nimoy crossed the ultimate boundary into eternity, passing away at the age of 83. When I heard the news I was shocked and then deeply saddened.

For you see, I’m a Trekkie, having watched every series of Star Trek since I was a year old. It was back in 1965 that I came into the world and the year after, Star Trek first aired on NBC. Based on what my parents told me, my Dad would sit me down next to him on the sofa and we’d watch Star Trek together. Being only a year old, I don’t remember much about that. But I do remember a little of watching the final year of Star Trek in 1969 when I was four. Regardless, I was a Star Trek fan from that moment. My favorite character was Spock. I was fascinated by the fact he was an alien, was able suppress his emotions and had pointed ears. Needless to say I watched every episode I could watch, watched the Animated Series in the early 70’s and ultimately went on to watch Star Trek : The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager and Enterprise.

I went to the movie theater every time a new Star Trek movie came out. I couldn’t get enough of it. I’d have to say my absolute favorite Star Trek film was Star Trek VI : The Undiscovered Country.

As an adult, my Dad and I would watch Star Trek : The Next Generation together, renewing the tradition started way back in 1966. He was a big Star Trek fan too and we both enjoyed watching new episodes as they aired back in the late 1980s.

But today is not about favorite films or how much of a Star Trek fan I am or memories of my Dad and I. It’s about Leonard Nimoy. I know that all Star Trek fans everywhere are mourning his death. He was a very talented and creative individual with an awesome sense of humor. And his incredible acting skills don’t just grace the Star Trek set. He has appeared in many other films and television shows. I think one of the best, and least known, is his role as the prophet Samuel in the made for TV movie: David, which aired in 1997. His most recent movie was in Star Trek Into Darkness in 2013.

I’m sure everyone has fond memories of Leonard Nimoy, whether they watched him from behind the tube of a television set or met him in person at one of the multitudes of conventions he attended. And it is memories that Leonard Nimoy mentioned in his final tweet on February 23rd which really sums up what life is all about…

A life is like a garden. Perfect moments can be had, but not preserved, except in memory. Live Long and Prosper.

God speed Leonard, may you live long and prosper throughout eternity.

Leave a Reply

