For the past 6 years I have been playing a hunter in World of Warcraft. Frostwillow was created in June 2006 during Vanilla WoW and I really never liked the hunter class back in those days. I leveled her to 58 and just called it quits. Even after Burning Crusade was released in 2007 I had no interest in playing a hunter. At that time I began playing a Blood Elf Mage named Incendius. I raided on Incendius through-out all of Burning Crusade and into the very start of Wrath of the Lich King. It was then that I went to my hunter to see if things had improved, and much to my surprise they had. I fell in love with my hunter and began leveling the crap out of her, taking her from 58 to 80 in about 2 weeks. It wasn’t long after that when I decided to retire my mage and make Frostwillow my main class. I geared her up in Naxxramas, Trial of the Crusader, Ulduar and the pinnacle of Wrath of the Lich King: Icecrown Citadel. I continued to play her until the next expansion came out, Cataclysm, and then quit playing the game because that expansion was terrible. I returned to Frostwillow when Mists of Pandaria was about to launch and relearned how to play the class. Eventually joining an awesome guild called TheElement and raiding with them through all of the content in that expansion. Warlords of Draenor dropped only a few weeks ago and unfortunately the hunter class was devastatingly crushed by Blizzard Entertainment. It felt like Vanilla all over again. The fun was gone. It was sorely disappointing and really depressed me a lot! I loved my hunter but now I couldn’t see raiding on her anymore. That’s when Incendius came back into the light.

And so it is with a great sadness that I officially retire my hunter, send her off to a nice, sunny, beach somewhere to rest and relax after 6 years of fun together. We have been through a lot she and I, but now Incendius will take her place, as we come full circle. In Warlords of Draenor, I will be a mage – which is probably the only other class I truly love as much as a hunter. Fortunately, Blizzard’s stupid stick didn’t affect mages all too much.

Farewell Frostwillow, thanks for the good times! Hopefully someday, when Blizzard gets their head out of their asses and stops hating hunters, we will have more adventures together.

Leave a Reply

