Okay I am going to just come out and speak a very solid truth…I am an Apple fan boy. I have been using Apple products since the day my father bought me an original Macintosh back in June of 1984. My admiration for Apple is great, but at the same time I do have a lot of complaints about certain things Apple has produced. The new version of iMovie for example is a pile of crap, the Apple wireless mouse is a battery inhaling piece of shit, and the new folder icon colors in the upcoming OS X release, Yosemite, make me want to vomit.

But when it comes to the iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus, I have nothing bad to say at all. They are, as Tim Cook said, the best iPhones Apple has ever made. I love my iPhone 6. In fact if I had maintained my normal routine, I would never be enjoying an iPhone 6 right now. Normally I skip a generation. But the iPhone 6 had way too many awesome features to keep that tradition. But this post isn’t about how awesome the iPhone 6 series is, it’s about people who hate Apple looking for any and all ways to tarnish the company’s products. I am talking about bendgate.

Bendgate is total horse shit! Yes there were some iPhone 6 Plus phones which had some kind of defect and were bent. But to date there have been less than 1% of the total number of phones sold that have had this issue. This issue was precipitated by one of two possible reasons (or both):

A. The user put the phone in their back pocket and sat on the phone : Absolutely ludicrous! Who the hell puts a big phone like the iPhone 6/6 Plus in their back pockets and sits down? That’s just a clear lack of common sense and apparent lack of intelligence.

B. The user purposely bent the phone to show the world that Apple’s products are terrible : I wouldn’t doubt it. There are plenty of people out there who, for whatever fucked up reason, hate Apple. Sure Apple’s products are more expensive, sure Apple uses proprietary technologies and so on, yes Apple does keep a tight control over what goes on their devices. Hey, how about you look a little closer at the industry as a whole. For YEARS Microsoft has been doing things far more evil than Apple. You want to talk about proprietary stuff and closed source, Microsoft reeks of being the most closed-minded company in the world. Apple isn’t alone in that line of thinking. But that’s no reason to display the level of hate people display toward people who use Apple products. I mean, good fucking grief, you’re almost on the verge of a holy war – Android users versus Apple users. They’re TOOLS, all these things we use everyday are TOOLS! If you want to get bent out of shape over one person using one tool versus another – why not start doing the same for everything else? I drive a Nissan, you drive a BMW – omg hate me for driving a Nissan! I like Craftsman tools, you prefer Stanley tools…omg hate me for using Craftsman. See how ridiculous that is?

Anyway, out of the 40 million iPhone 6/6 Plus smartphones sold so far, only a very very very small percentage have had an issue with bending. But you know I think who summed it up best was the CEO of T-Mobile…

Last, but not least, allow me to further exemplify the amount of horse shit involved with the whole bendgate thing with this simple illustration I threw together…

bendgate horseshit

 

‘Nuf said.

 

1 Comment

  1. A. Bigger phone on pants with smaller pockets. Many more people are putting phones in there back pockets. And kids with Iphones are in a similar situation.

    B. Apple makes there products cheap. They’re made from crappy products and they know that screens will break. They don’t care, people keep buying them. Each phone has gotten substantially worse in the way of lifespan. In comparison to other phones on the market, Iphones have a vastly ill proportioned share of broken screens. I can only speak for my HTC one personally outside of the apple products I have owned, but one more than one occasion I have abused the phone only to have it come back still glistening like new.

    C. Apple has a horrible OS. Its extremely restrictive in scope and ability. Sure its catchy, but it has no potential for customization or extended use outside of normal OS operations. It relies on constant updates which are generally released too early and contain thousands of bugs. They rarely listen to user feedback, and when they do they just steal it from andriod or windows operating systems and market it as their own innovative feature.

    Overall, Apple has a business model that preys on the uninformed and exploits the wasteful. Although I have used their products in the past, a more informed and intelligent me has ran as far away from them as society will let me. Looks like I wont have any nudes leaking from the cloud anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

