I have allergies, bad allergies, from mid-March all the way until mid-June. During this time I am a quivering, sniffling, sneezing, coughing, hacking, itching ball of goo. On some days it feels as if my sinuses are just going to explode. So what do I do to combat the symptoms of being raped by grass, flowers and trees?

First, in early March I begin by purchasing several cans of Arm & Hammer Simply Saline nasal mist. This stuff works wonders. On days when the pollen count is high and my allergies are kicking my ass, I whip out one of these cans and just flush the living daylights out of my sinuses (especially if I have been outside for an extended period of time). It just washes away the pollen grains and nastiness up in your nose and sinuses. Second, I arm myself with Nasonex nasal spray, which I apply once a day, usually after a sinus rinse.

But what about allergy medication? My belief is, while allergy medication such as Allegra, Claritin or, in my case, Xyzal (Zy-zal), will help alleviate symptoms, they only do it to a certain point. When allergies start getting really bad (like around early to mid May), I just think that allergy pills just become overwhelmed by the onslaught and can’t keep the histamine response under control anymore. But keep taking them, because they do keep things from going non-linear. Even if the allergy medication is ill equipped to combat the overload, it does at least keep the overload from swelling into a massive explosion of misery.

Another tip is to wash your hair (if you don’t already) every single day. Even if it just means standing under the water. This removes a lot of pollen that can accumulate on your hair. The last thing you want to do is have pollen in your hair and then you lay down on your pillow and it gets transferred there. No thanks!

And now for the big money tip: BUY A HONEYWELL AIR PURIFIER! I have three of these babies churning 24/7 in my apartment (I have a big apartment). These are invaluable tools for fighting the war. They suck in bad and spit out fresh, purified, air. The only thing you really must do with them is vacuum the carbon pre-filter once every month or two (make sure you use a vacuum with a HEPA filter). I chose Honeywell as my preferred brand because they have HEPA filters and remove 99.97% of germs and allergens as small as 0.3 microns (which means it can capture cigarette smoke, mold spores, pet dander, etc.). I am not going to lie, these babies are a little expensive, but not terribly so. They are worth every friggin penny, because they do a great job of getting all the crap in the air out and giving you fresh air to breathe. My indoor allergies have never been better since getting these things.

So these are my weapons of war which I wield in the battle against allergies. Once winter comes back, I am golden – because I don’t have any winter-time allergies. Thank God!

In closing here are some links for you to follow to get more information on the products I have mentioned. Good luck!

 

Arm & Hammer Simply Saline Nasal Mist

Nasonex Nasal Spray (please check with your doctor to see if Nasonex is right for you)

Honeywell Air Purifier Store
Remember when buying an air purifier, make sure to measure the room, in square feet, it will be in and check to insure that purifier will support a room of that size.

I highly recommend the Honeywell 50150-N and 17000-S purifiers, which are the two models I own. They’re awesome!

 

Leave a Reply

