WHEN I WAS ADDICTED TO WORLD of WARCRAFT

(sung to the tune “When I was a lad” from Gilbert and Sullivan’s HMS Pinafore)

(if you don’t know this tune go here and fast forward to 2 min : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLIyWcxPlEU)

Lyrics by Kevin Harris

KEVIN
One day my friend, said it’s time for something new,
to take the old games and bid adieu,
to play night elves, dwarves and little gnomes,
and follow a quest where-ever it roams.

CHORUS
(to follow a quest where-ever it roams)

KEVIN
I said no way, that’s nothing to waft,
I was soon to be addicted to World of Warcraft.

CHORUS
(He said no way, that’s nothing to waft,
He was soon to be addicted to World of Warcraft)

KEVIN
I didn’t want to play, I didn’t want to pay,
but my friend had something else to say,
he bought me the game, what a royal pain,
and I would never ever ever be the same.

CHORUS
(He would never ever ever be the same)

KEVIN
I’d never be the same, so bad I laughed,
because I was addicted to World of Warcraft.

CHORUS
(He’d never be the same, so bad he laughed,
because now he was addicted to World of Warcraft)

KEVIN
I played day and night, I played night and day,
I was such a zombie there was nothing I could say,
I quested here and quested there,
and got a pet that was a bear.

CHORUS
(He got a pet that was a bear)

KEVIN
I quested so much that I was daft,
because I was addicted to World of Warcraft.

CHORUS
(He quested so much that he was daft,
because he was addicted to World of Warcraft)

KEVIN
I leveled my toon so very very fast,
I wasn’t sure the addiction would last,
I reached top levels with incredible glee,
that end game I would surely see.

CHORUS
(That end game he would surely see)

KEVIN
I raided with my guild, I was never abaft,
because I was a raider in World of Warcraft.

CHORUS
(He raided with his guild, he was never abaft,
because he was a raider in World of Warcraft)

KEVIN
But soon the game lost it’s appeal,
my bank account needed time to heal,
playing late at night made me look so goth,
and so I stopped playing in Azeroth.

CHORUS
(He stopped playing in Azeroth)

KEVIN
I stopped playing it, no longer indraft,
I beat my addiction to World of Warcraft.

CHORUS
(He stopped playing it, no longer indraft,
He beat his addiction to World of Warcraft)

KEVIN
Now people all, whatever you may be,
be it nerd, geek and or gamer see,
whether you play games or choose not to,
be careful to be guided by this golden rule–

Don’t ever buy this game, or you’ll get the shaft
and you’ll be addicted to World of Warcraft.

CHORUS
(Don’t ever buy this game, or you’ll get the shaft,
and you’ll be addicted to World of Warcraft)

Leave a Reply

