Well our time here in New York is coming to an end. Tomorrow morning we will load up the car and head south to Virginia and home. It was a really great trip, I enjoyed seeing my family here. My Mom enjoyed the trip and seeing everyone, most especially our dinner with her cousin Ann. Today I woke up around 11:00, went to the diner again but my stomach wasn’t feeling so great so I skipped breakfast/lunch. We then drove up to West Point to pay one last visit to my Dad’s final resting place and to walk around campus and enjoy the sights, reliving memories. I walked up to this stone wall where my Dad and I had spent so much time together. Every time we’d go to West Point, we would go to that wall and just gaze out at the Hudson River below. When I walked up to the wall today I became very emotional and started to cry. My Mom hugged me, knowing that this was the stone wall where my Dad and I hung out. I looked out at the Hudson River, my eyes filled with tears and just took a deep breath and moved on. After West Point we drove to Suffern, NY to the nursing facility where my sister’s body lies. I refer to it as my sister’s body because my sister isn’t there. She remains in a persistent vegetative state after being struck by a drunk driver in 2005. In my world, she is dead, she is gone. I stayed in the car this time while my Mom went inside to see her. I cannot bear to go in there anymore. I can’t bear to see my sister like that or to see my mother crying.

My Mom returned to the car after about 20 minutes. We then drove to the Mountain View Deli and grabbed some awesome sandwiches and homemade pickles. That place is surely the best! We got back to the hotel and ate our sandwiches and retired to our rooms. I laid down, very tired and worn out from the emotions I had felt and simply fell asleep. I slept for about two hours and woke up, read my email and ultimately posted this final entry for our trip. It was an emotional day for sure.

When I come back up, I will also be visiting a friend, a classmate, from my high school. He lives not too far from our hotel and it will be nice to see him after all these years.  So in two weeks, we will be back for Thanksgiving. I can’t wait!

Here are some photos from today…

View from the Stone Wall

 

West Point Reservoir

 

Mom prays over Dad's Resting Place
Leave a Reply

