Well, here we are on Day 4 of this damned cold. I woke up this morning with a rattling sound in my chest, I started coughing and couldn’t stop. Then when I tried to say something…well, I couldn’t. My voice was gone. I went downstairs and grabbed a cup of hot tea and took another round of Mucinex. This shit is now in my chest and my nose is still stuffed up pretty bad. The worst thing is, sometimes when I breathe I am wheezing. This is not good. As soon as I got some semblance of my voice back, I called into work and told them I wouldn’t be there. Jackie, our warehouse manager, said “You sound like shit.” Well……….yeah! I felt like shit too. As the day has progressed, the chest issues have lessened a bit – I still am wheezing every once in a while. I have coughed up a little bit of stuff, but nothing excessive. My nose is slowly trying to clear up. I am taking Mucinex regularly (every 12 hours) and I drank a ton of Powerade today…and will continue doing that tonight. I am probably going to hit up my doctor in the morning (if I can get an appointment) and call out of work again. I don’t think it’s a good idea to be working when you are this sick! Still don’t have a fever, my temperature has been between 97.8 and 98.9 all day. I am not constantly coughing, rather coughing in spurts and when those spurts come I cough for  several seconds – 4-8 coughs per spurt. I tried taking a nap today, but when I laid down I started to have chest rattling again – so I have been staying awake and avoiding laying down. Crossing my fingers no bacteria decide to move in and set up camp – the little bastards. For all I know they are already there – well, the doc will advise me and give me what I need to defeat those sons-a-bitches.

Leave a Reply

