As those who know me really well will tell you, it is damned near impossible to get me to go shopping for clothing. However, in a rare moment, I found myself in Springfield Mall shopping for clothes this weekend. Not only that, but when all was said and done I had spent a sizable chunk of money on clothes. So, what has happened to change my attitude about shopping for clothes? I have no clue. Maybe it’s just me getting old? I really can’t tell you.

Fact is, I needed some dress clothes for my upcoming appearance in the show ring with Tango. I got myself a nice blazer, 2 dress shirts, 2 ties, a belt, 2 pairs of dress pants, dress socks and new dress shoes. I then decided, hey I could use some new shirts for wearing to work and around the house, and some new jeans and a new pair of shoes for work and general wear…I am not sure, maybe I have suffered a hormone imbalance and somehow some small feminine part of my being came out.

Well thankfully I didn’t add lipstick, eyeliner or stuff like that to my pile. The funniest thing is, I made three trips to the car with bags because I really didn’t feel like carrying all that stuff, and at the front door to the store I was in there was a woman handing out chocolate bars. The wrappers of these bars were actually coupons that I could use to get 20%, 30% or 40% off the stuff I was buying. So with each trip to the car, upon walking back into the store she gave me a chocolate bar. In the end I had like four coupons that I ended up using.

On the way out of the store I saw a nice dress watch in the Jewelry Dept. I was like, hmmmmm, I could use one of those too. Hell, I am already splurging like crazy, let’s add to the pile. So I asked the guy behind the counter to show me the watch I was interested in. He said, “Ah, you have good taste.” I really liked that watch, so I asked the big question, “How much?” He looked at me, “$300, but today it’s just $191!” I was like…hmmmm cool. So I went home with a new dress watch on top of the shirts, jeans, shoes, socks, dress pants, underwear, ties, blazer, belt and above all else, hands covered in chocolate.

Leave a Reply

